Searching...

Netflix using data when its included on my plan

Kimberlymwhite

So I’ve called Optus twice, once last week, the ladie was helpful and said she would monitor my account because I shouldn’t be getting data deducted from my account because it is data free as per my contract. After waiting a week for a response I called again an spoke to someone else who said that because I have a subscription to Netflix it was using my data. Which is confusing as I thought you needed a subscription to Netflix? After asking to speak to someone else or her supervisor and her saying no because they would only provide me with the same information I have decided to ask all of you Smiley Happy can someone please help me understand why I get data deducted from my account when all I do is stream from Netflix? Thank thank thank you! 

Re: Netflix using data when its included on my plan

petergdownload

Have you registered for free data? Its under MYACCOUNT under the tab up the top labled SPORTS and ENTERTAINMENT.

Second are you not on an unlimited plan? Are you on mobile broadband?

Third the unmetered Netflix on mobile only applies to SD watching - are you watching in HD?

Regards

Peter Gillespie

CassieD

This is happening to me also. I'm not sure why it's coming up on my data usage when it's not meant to be coming out of my data at all.

[ Edited ]
petergdownload

@CassieD

As mentioned it will show as data used in various screens (because it uses data). It won't be counted out of your monthly total.

Perhaps check you have the free data option enabled (Its in MYACCOUNT at the top on the TAB labelled SPORTS and ENTERTAINMENT

Also the data is only free if streaming SD Netflix. Not HD.

Regards

Peter Gillespie

Kimberlymwhite