New Contributor

Fetch Mighty and 4k output

Are all Fetch Might boxes 4k capable

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Honoured Contributor
Honoured Contributor

Re: Fetch Mighty and 4k output

Yes. But you need a 4K source (Currently Netflix and maybe some Stan?)

The ability to play local files (NAS) on the mighty has been broken for a few months now and I don't know if that way could play 4K either though.

Here's a thread from last year on the issue. Fetch Announcement

Peter Gillespie

New Contributor DC0803
New Contributor

Thanks for the prompt reply Peter.

I am a bit of newbie when it comes to thi sort of stuff.

I can currently only see in the settings area of the fetch up to 1080P is that becuse the source itself is not 2160.

Cheers

darren

0 Kudos
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor

For completeness (and I'm not an expert on this), Netflix resolution depends on your Netflix plan. If you have a 4k TV, set the Fetch Mighty to 2160@60 or 2160@50 no matter what - I believe the TV will/can upscale. My Mighty is set at 2160@60 and I haven't noticed any funnies with Fetch or FTA channels..

PS: Only the Mighty supports 4k. Mini 1s 1080P, I believe. Only other 4k that I'm aware of is Foxtel (I gave them up for Fetch - better value).

0 Kudos
Honoured Contributor
Honoured Contributor

I've read this a couple of times now. What is meant by the tv can upscale? I know what upscaling is but if the fetch is outputting 2160p then that is 4k. No need to upscale anything?

Peter Gillespie

0 Kudos
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor

@petergdownload. Should have anticipated your question. This https://www.techradar.com/au/news/4k-upscaling-everything-you-need-to-know-about-how-tvs-turn-hd-int... should help. The 4k TV has 3,840/2,160 pixels - so. most inputs have to be scaled (up) so that all pixels are used.