cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Welcome to the new look Community! We're still upgrading and making some changes to the platform over the coming weeks! Stay tuned.
New Contributor Jones_82
New Contributor

Network Congestion

Does anyone else live in an area which suffers from network congestion during peak hours? 

I am a resident in Loftus, Sydney NSW and ever since I moved here and chose Optus HFC (Cable) I have had horrendous drop outs during peak hours (8:00am-10:00am & 6pm until midnight). My speed will go from max 30m down 2m up during the day, dropping to a consistent 3-5m down / 0.2m up consistently during peak time.

I have had the following support from Optus:

- A new modem

- 4 engineer visits, comprising of:

- A device fixed to my line to reduce line voltage, general troubleshooting

- Lots of conflicting information from the helpdesk (your line is faulty when it's not, your modem is faulty when it's not)

As the same engineer has been visiting, I have gotten to know him quite well. He has told me that the area suffers from "100% upload and 100% download congestion on the local node connecting this area". He also told me that "Going with any other provider will have the same issue and NBN won't fix the problem either". 

Is this it then, am I supposed to just accept that it's the norm and poor service has to be tolerated, or are there other options? 

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

Re: Network Congestion

I'm surprised there were four visits. Congestion is readily identifiable (slow down in peak times) and should have nothing to do with your specific household connection. 

Perhaps try knocking on a few neighbours doors in your street and asking who they are with (NBN? Optus?) and what speeds they are getting through the day. A bit awkward but maybe you are the friendly type? 

Regards

Peter Gillespie

New Contributor Jones_82
New Contributor

Hi Peter,