Searching...
Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Telephone sockets not working

gandk169

I just activated the new NBN service yesterday and now only the telephone connected to the modem will work.  I have 5 telephone wall sockets in a large home and need then activated.  When I rang Optus Technical Support I was told to buy a new phone with mulitple handsets or call in an elcitrician; it this true?  When I signed up for the Optus NBN the sales man assured me that all the telephone wall sockets in my home would work.  I'm a pensioner and need my telephones but the extra cost is a burden.  Does anyone have any idea on how to activate my wall sockets?  If you answer my questions please explain in great detail as I'm new to computers and am finding this all so confusing.  Thank you

Re: Telephone sockets not working

[ Edited ]
Arctos

A new phone with multiple handsets will be cheaper than a electrician.

You can buy a Panasonic cordless phone with three handsets for $74,00 at Officeworks.  

Solution

gandk169

Thank you for your imput.  Bought a telephone with 3 hand sets today so back in touch.

Cheers!!

commsrbrad

Hi, sorry I did not see this earlier, and its a bit late now.

But all you needed to do was plug the telephone line from the modem into one of your existing wall points, you would have lost one telephone point but the rest would have worked.

gandk169

Better late than never...thank you so much.  Now just let me get this right.

I checked and the current wall socket is used by the telephone line going into the new NBN modem.  If I ask an electricain to install another telephone wall socket in the same area I could then plug the black line I now have in my telephone back into the new wall socket.  That would mean the telephone by the modem would not work but all my other wall sockets would start working again.  Right?  

It's important that I have a landline as I'm in a 'black spot' and my mobile is useless here.  Thank you for taking the time to respond.