cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question

Yes Crowd will close and be redirected to Help & Support on the 1st November 2021. Thank you to every member who has made this community such a helpful and supportive place for customers and staff to interact to help serve along with improve our products and services. You will be missed.

GJC
Contributor
Contributor

Teams video & screen share lagging

Background: I've been using Teams for about 3 years without issues and with basically zero lag. About 4 months ago (give or take), I had a day where my NBN modem went offline several times over a period of a couple of hours. Following that day, video and screen share coming to me is fine but my video and screen share going out is extremely laggy, bordering on unusable. This has remained consistent ever since.

Nothing has changed from my end to bring about this issue. Of late I have been trying a few settings around QoS in my router, including prioritising video call traffic - all with no impact.

Today, I was able to trial a Teams meeting where I started on my NBN connection and mid-call, switched to my 4g mobile connection. The NBN call was laggy as usual but the moment I switched to 4g, the connection become crystal clear and without any lag.

I then tested my connection speeds on each:
NBN:

GJC_0-1633588070390.png

Mobile/4g:

GJC_1-1633588097173.png

Despite the mobile connection being much slower in upload and download speed, and ping and jitter values being much higher - the mobile connection provided a far superior connection in Teams. 

I believe this test rules out any server configuration issues that I have read about with Teams. Likewise, there's no reason to believe there's an issue with my local network. I'm out of options and considering churning to another provider but there's no assurance that will change anything if this is an NBN (or local) issue.

Wondering if anyone has any ideas.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Kartika