Searching...
Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Registering new 3rd-party VOIP service over (HFC) NBN

Rick2225

Folk,

I have been using VOIP (Engin) over Optus HFC broadband for about 10 years, but since migrating to Optus HFC NBN (provisioned via Foxtel cable!) I have decided to change provider to MyNetFone. The new ATA router arrived today, yet despite spending over 3 hours on the phone with BOTH MyNetFone and Optus NBN support, I am unable to activate the service via our NBN connection. MyNetFone's advice was to contact a neighbour etc. and try connecting the device to another broadband service to see if it will register, but I have yet to attempt that.

I even tried bypassing the Optus gateway and connecting the ATA/Router directly to the NBN modem (NTD) where it happily connected to the internet but still refused to register itself, so it appears that something in the NTD is blocking the ATA handshake/authentication. Optus technical support were obstinate in their REFUSAL to assist with resolving the issue, taking the 'not our problem' stance :-(

Online research which I have done today suggests that something needs 'tweaking' in the NTD (Arris CM8200). Suggestions, anyone? The ATA itself is a standard Cisco SPA122, pre-configured & tested by the VOIP provider.

Rick2225

PS: The Engin VOIP service is still working fine, and switched seamlessly from Optus HFC to Optus NBN HFC...

Re: Registering new 3rd-party VOIP service over (HFC) NBN

Rick2225