cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
New Contributor Coolpantcate
New Contributor

Nbn constantly dropping out

This has been going of for maybe a month or two now and it's really annoying. So practically everyday, anywhere during 1 PM to 5 PM the internet connection in my house will completely drop out, then come back online for a few minutes, then drop out again. This will happen during the duration of 1 PM to 5 PM and it happens consistently. Yes we've contacted optus multiple times regarding this situation, and yes they've told us the same things over and over again like how they'll conduct investigations or how to restart the modem (at this point I'm an expert). Does anyone have or have had this problem and do you known if I can do something about this? I live in Macquarie Fields and moved from Canley Heights and my internet connection back there was a lot better than here and I didn't have NBN back then. Here I only got an extra 2 MB/s download speed and a connection that constantly disconnects.
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Honoured Contributor
Honoured Contributor

Re: Nbn constantly dropping out

What NBN technology do you have? FTTN?

Does restarting the modem immediately restore the connection?

About how many drop outs a day would you say you have? 2? 10? 50?

0 Kudos
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor

Sounds like you are on NBN HFC. If so, yours appears to be a common problem with (NBN) HFC. Optus probably cannot do anything to improve things for you.

The real blame lies with our beloved politicians who decided that they could roll out an NBN quicker/faster/cheaper rather than a mostly FTTP NBN. It's not very quick (original promise was for 2016), definitely not faster, and appears to not be (much) cheaper.

0 Kudos
New Contributor