Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
For Australian Bushfire info please click here
Occasional Contributor ashvd97
Occasional Contributor

NBN Wi-Fi 'connected', but no internet! Sagemcom Gateway F@ST 3864

Hi there,

I'm totally at a loss of what to do here, I had an NBN technician come out and install my NBN connection. He connected the NBN box to my previous ADSL modem (Sagemcom Gateway F@AST 3864) which is NBN compatible , connected it up to all the correct wires and told me to call Optus to activate the service. After a 2 hour long frustrating phone call being told a million different things my internet still does not work. The wi-fi shows as 'connected' and I can connect to it, but the internet does not work. I have tried pulling all cables out, resetting the modems, turning on and off again and even manually changing through 1, 6 and 11 channels to see if that fixed it. Still nothing and I am now a teacher stuck without internet for days waiting for a new NBN box.

The current modem I have is compatible and SHOULD work, so if I can fix it and avoid being stuck with no internet for days I will. Any advice!?

0 Kudos
18 Replies
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor

Re: NBN Wi-Fi 'connected', but no internet! Sagemcom Gateway F@ST 3864

Hi - I agree with you - one would expect your existing modem to be NBN compatible - what is the full model description. In the two hour call, did Optus confirm that they have indeed transitioned you from ADSL to NBN? They should have been able to connect to your Modem and validate all OK - are they sending you another modem because they think your modem is faulty?