Searching...

Modem Router or Router

AdrianTeo

Hi there, I'm new to this forum and been browsing through for a solution for my nbn connection. First of all, I am a newbie in this so please bear with me. I understand that what I am going to ask is pretty much discussed extensively but I'm getting confused so forgive me if this sounds stupid.

I am on Optus NBN $80 plan with the supplied Sagemcom modem/router. Not using the phone at all. My connection is FTTP.

I have been experiencing constant drop out in my phone or smart TV, which were connected through WIFI. I believe the problem is Sagemcom and I would like to ask for an opinion on how to fix this.

Question:

1) Should I purchase a modem router and replace the Sagemcom?

2)If so, what is the best option for my situation?

3)With the recommended modem router, can I just plug it into the port like how I plug the Sagemcom modem router supplied?

4)Will there be any settings required or just plug and play?

OR

1) Should I buy a router instead?

2) what would be a good suggestion for router?

3) Can I just plug it into the port behind my current Sagemcom modem router?

4)Do I need to configure anything or just plug and play?

Thanks alot for the help. My apology if this sounds like dumb questions. 

Re: Modem Router or Router

Toomey

Before going down this route, I would advise some further testing to ensure there aren't any issues with your NBN line, otherwise drop outs could continue regardless of your equipment.

What these drop outs occur, do you notice if any lights on the modem change? This will identify if it's a line issue or WiFi issue.

Do you have any devices that you could connect via ethernet? If they stay connected while a WiFi device drops out, this would indicate a WiFi issue but the NBN line is fine.