Searching...
Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Constant Slow NBN Speeds

[ Edited ]
AdamDabin

I'm paying for 50/20 NBN speeds and this what I get. For the first week after signed up I was getting about 42/19 which is acceptable, then after the first week it dropped to average of 19/15 and more than often perfrmance is that bad and this is the kind of throughput we're getting. I am an IT professional working in the infrastrucutre sector for over 20 years, I've done more than the usual person can do to isolate end user hardware issues.

There is defineitely something worng/dogdy with the Optus network on NBN. Has anyone else been able to get Optus to own their crap, or is everyone else also getting the "must be something your doing wrong" line? I have spoken to their tech support and once they realised they couldn't pull the wool over my eyes the guy all but admitted that the network has capacity issues.

Anyway I understand under telecommunication law that they must supply at a minimum to 50% of the advertised speeds of a plan, clearly this is not cutting it, time to take action with the telecommunications Onbudsmen, I urge you all to take similar action if your regularly seeing same results. 

Seeming more like a money grab from Optus without buying the capcity to support their "Plans".  The irony is even trying to make this post, it times out trying to attach a picture of the Optus speed test. As I cant attach it the resukts are 11/2. So much for 50/20.

Optus NBN Speed.PNG

Re: Constant Slow NBN Speeds

WhoIsAtlas

I'm not sure if the telco law specifies 50% as there is no real way of governing it. If it's congested then Optus are pretty quick at fixing it with NBN as it's just about buying more capacity so I'd guess they'd sort it out pretty quick. You'd have more of a problem if you were on HFC cable which requires physical intervention in the network to upgrade.

Dan_C