Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Contributor Larico
Contributor

Congestion? -Cranbourne

Just wanted to ask what's going on?

Is anyone in around Cranbourne having speed issues? It's been about a month for me.

I called tech support a fortnight ago, and gentleman said that there was some works being done in the area.  Fair enough, I hung in there.

I called today, because more than 2 weeks is a long time. The fellow fluffed me around and couldn't give me a straight answer.

I'm a network admin, so it's not like I can't troubleshoot myself-

1. he wanted to reset my modem to default settings! (no thanks, I've got port forwards and a DMZ set up).

2. suggested I flip the cable around- plug in the computer side to the 'modem' side and vice versa.... what on earth would that do?

3. try a different port ...

etc.

I mean after telling me that there are congestion issues, I did ask him how are ANY of those steps going to do anything. It would have been more helpful to suggest I connect my computer directly to the UNI-D port and see how the speed is to rule out the 'modem'; but apparently Optus tech support is suggesting that changing the WiFi channels is somehow going to affect speeds on my computer that's connected by gigabit ethernet.

So... those annoyances aside, there was no eta on the "server upgrades" that Optus is apparently doing for the past month...

What am I supposed to do? Twiddle my thumbs getting 10-30mb/s on a 50-100mbps plan (yeah, that's right, advertised MINIMUM speed of 50mbps). Despite still occassionally getting as high as 40mbps, it's somehow not enough to watch EPL replays without ridicoulous blurring every 15 seconds..