Searching...

Mobile

malicious excessive data usage appeared

Gmonica

I've been using Optus since 24th Sept 2018 only for Youtube, Whatsapp, Line, Instagram, and normal browser (no gaming or downloading or any other massive data consumption activity). I'm shocked once I checked on my usage, normally never exceed 1Gb per day but there are SOME dates stated that I used up to 9 Gb !! What the hell is really happening? Now I exceed the usage about 13Gb and for that I was charged $130 !!! For real???  Just how big social media consume the data?

Re: malicious excessive data usage appeared

[ Edited ]
Yeldarb

All those apps can use large amounts of data. Do you have app usage history in the settings under data usage?

Average month for me watching YouTube videos using my mobile tethered.

mobile-data-usage.jpg

petergdownload

If you are using an Android phone have you set local warnings and limits?

Optus is obligated to send an SMS with every top up (although it can be 48 hours after the fact). 

Did you recieve any SMSs?

Peter Gillespie 

GuyCS

Hey @Gmonica - not great to hear you're having trouble with data usage. Your data breakdown in the My Optus App and your My Account should outline where/when the majority of your data has been used, but we can certainly check it out on our end as well.

If you'd like us to take a look at your usage, please send me a private message with the following info:

Are you the primary account holder: Y/N
Full name: 
Date of birth: 
Account/Service number:

Did we answer your question? Please mark it as a Accepted Solution and be generous with that Kudos button Smiley Happy

Gmonica