cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Welcome to the new look Community! We're still upgrading and making some changes to the platform over the coming weeks! Stay tuned.
Occasional Contributor Slimhome
Occasional Contributor

Re: Removal of Optus Leasing plans

At least you got a txt msg... I got nothing! I found out through word of mouth.

0 Kudos
Occasional Contributor Slimhome
Occasional Contributor

I am in my first year of lease. I feel we should be given an option to amend the contract to owning it. This should not involve cancelling the plan nor paying for the device. Rather, work out numbers for us to continue with the plan and own the phone. This option should be available as a number 1 priority for people on lease plan.

0 Kudos
Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

@Slimhome ,

I think Optus are (or have) recently sent out a round of SMS notifications with some info (although nothing much different from the current statement of options I believe).

FWIW you can do the numbers yourself now for the 'own it option'. At the moment the default outcome is you just keep paying what you have until 24 months is up and hand the phone back and walk away.

You have two other main choices.

First at the 24 month point you can offer to buy the phone outright. Optus will tell you the price (which does seem mostly reasonable on the proces reported to date - depends on your model but probably somewhere around $500). So if you have 12 months left to go on the lease just pit aside 500/12 = $40 a month and you'll be able to buy the phone when the time comes (You can see now how the $10 a month you save on a leasing plan doesn't start to cover the $40 a month of value you give up)