Searching...

Mobile

Accepted Solution

Recontracting

AnandB

Called Optus to recontract from an existing plan to a higher plan but have been told it's not possible.

I thought going to a higher plan would be allowed as essentially it's more money for optus  on a monthly basis. But nope.

In store once been told it should be possible but I'll be paying whatever my current monthly handset repayments are. I've been told I won't get the promotional bonus data and the current promotion of free netflix for 12 months on their postpaid plans.

I'm new to optus and it's only been 3 months or so since I signed up for a 24 month contract $85 My Plan Plus.

I want to go to $105 plan wick has 200gb data and free netflix etc

Could anyone tell me if this is possible?

Solution

Re: Recontracting

petergdownload

When you choose a plan you select a plan 'family'. Essentially the same plan but with different data amounts available. You can switch within the plan family. But if you suddenly see a better plan special you can't just jump to that one just because it costs a bit more. Check the CIS for your plan.

Note Handset repayments are always seperate from any plan changes. 

Peter Gillespie

Highlighted
Solution

AnandB

Hello Peter

Thank you for your response. I understand what you're saying. I guess my original question was not the right one. 

The reason I started looking at plans again having already signed up to a 24 month contract recently was that i decoded I needed more data. I came across the current promotions then and thought it'll be nice if I could get them as well as additional data if I move to a higher plan.

So,  the basic need is just more data. I am looking at the same family of plans I think:

I'm on 85 My Plan Plus postpaid plan plus $10 handset repayment. 

I want too move to the next plan up which is $105, but noticed the one above that outs $125 but is discounted now to 106.25.