cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
New Contributor Bayleaf1212
New Contributor

Over using my phone Data when im not on it or connected to WIFI when in public or at home.

Long strong cut much shorter than what it is...

I signed up for the 15gb for $40 a month around Feb 2018, and normally I would go over my usage here and there by 1gb at the most. Seeing as im currently studying full time and working this plan is pretty good to do research, and go on my social media apps that I use quite frequently. The previous month I went over my plan by almost 4gb and I didnt use my data any differently or more than what I would of with me previous months. Called optus and they said that they couldn't seeing anything out of the normal but the data usage was accurate to what they are saying... Myself, being in to technology processing and studying it currently I  was quite confused because its not normal.  The lovely lady upgraded my plan to 20gb a month for the same price and so thankful to her for her doing that for me. But thats when things goes a stray as this month (still having 9 days left of the month to finish) i've gone over my limit. I havent used my plan any different.. havent done anything out of the normal apart from listening to more music on spotify which is free... Yet again back on the phone to optus.. theyre saying thats its accurate, the usage is right and dont use your data until it resets... a massive pain in the behind... they also told me if I go through it 'SO MUCH' go on the plan for 25gb for $65.. that is way to expesive as I have many other things to pay for. So I left it at that. Looking through my data breakdown I see what they are saying with whats my most used app etc..  But theres a new thing that I've never seen before which is TCP (Transmission Control Protocol) and that was not ever on my preious breakdowns as i would asked my self the same thing earlier what the hell is TCP... with TCP not being on m