Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Beebee7
New Contributor
New Contributor

Discriminated against due to being a 41 year old student

I applied online for a mobile phone service with Optus that provided a 10% discount to people within Australia who are enrolled University students. I am studying part-time at Charles Sturt University and would be eligible for this offer.

I received an email after I made the order asking me to call Optus to discuss it further. I was unable to make a call so I went to the Optus retail shop at my local shopping centre and asked them to help me, which they could not.

They got me to use their phone to ring Optus, which I did. I was then told by the salesperson on the phone that my order was declined. I enquired with him why I was declined and he then asked me what age I was.

I was unsure why he asked me this but I told him I was 41 years old. He then stated that due to my age I was being declined. I asked him to please confirm I had heard correctly and that I was being declined because I was 41 years old and he confirmed that.

I told him that was unacceptable as there was nothing in the terms and conditions to say that for one and therefore he was breaking the law by declining me on the basis of age. I asked him to please tell me where in the T&C's that there was an age restriction. He was unable to provide this information. I asked again for him to tell me where there was any reference to there being an age limit as I did not believe there was one.

The sales person told me I would need to speak to another person about that and there would be a 20-minute wait. At that stage, I got very angry and hung up the phone.

I spoke to the salesperson within the shop who told me they would take it to their team leader who was out the back of the shop. He then came back to me and told me that his team leader was unsure what to do as they are separate to the sales team and just provide retail services.