Searching...

Re: Why does Optus throttle p2p?

xalphabravox

I completly agree @loofemmaps & @mscheurer

As a former customer of Telstra from Wynnum i had(110 Mbps) of download and (2.4 Mbps)  upload Speed.

With no lag with online gaming and up to 6Mbps download speed on legal torrents.

Now with Optus (HFC) cable in (Redcliffe) I pay for 100Mbps download speed and receive upto a max of 45Mbps Down Speed

and 1.8Mbps Upload.

Along With Constant drop-outs on port 3074,80 etc (Xbox Live Ports)

Max connection with Telstra always 10,000kbps (10Mbps)

but with Optus i only seem to receive a max of 6000kbps (6Mbps). 

I am a computer engineer and am extremely tech savy with networking etc.

This Really Needs To Be Seen To As A Major Hidden Issue With OPTUS.

I would love the CEO of Optus Australia to Verify If Throttling P2P Network Speed is the case?

And explain to me why when connected to a VPN (Virtual Private Network) how the download speed of torrenting magically increases?

tpja2005

There is no throttling of P2P.   Which port would they throttle? Do you think that are checking you're torrents for indicitive marked packets?

If you're using TOR you probably derseve to get throttled, not that they do.

tpja2005

As for why would a VPN be quicker - off the top of my head, I am pretty sure most  VPNs used for pirating/nefarious/privacy reasons use Socks5 - which is not reliant on any form of encryption.   So you're link between he VPN and you box is straight through. the VPN itself if doing the heavy lifting. 

But that's just off the top of my head

[ Edited ]
johnnyramrod

I'm really not sure at all that the claim here by an Optus rep that they don't throttle is accurate. I just joined Optus Broadband this week. I still have my iinet naked DSL in play for another month or so. As a result I have a fairly useful test for things like torrents. This obviously isn't definitive, but here's what i've noticed doing tests the last few days.

IINET results