Searching...

Upload Speeds

Luma91

So,
"Why are Upload Speeds so slow?"

Back in 2005, I might have attempted to understand the argument "To help prevent people from sharing files" or "The technology isn't capable" But neither of these really hold up anymore. And, today there is much more application to upload speeds then "sharing files". People don't seem to have a problem finding ways to share files even with crappy upload speeds.

I'm coming from a situation where Upload Speed is critical to productivity. I am a university student who works frequently off campus on my workstation at home, and am constantly sending large files to and from the renderfarm at Campus.

However, the process of saving and transferring my files back to Uni takes forever. In fact, in some instances render jobs complete faster then it takes for me to submit the main project binary file to the server!

So much time has been wasted having to submit, and resubmit project files due to errors or mistakes costing me so much time.

The fact that my "Optus Cable Premium Speed" only has an upload speed of 2mbps, when my 4g phone has one of 20-30mbps is a huge laugh. It would save time for me to put the files on my phone, go outside and walk up the street and send the job where I have good reception on my phone, walk back and it would have completed faster then it would have from my home broadband that I pay over $120/mo for!

It's a laugh! I wish I could get some reasonable answers, as I know the NBN doesn't have upload speeds as a priority in any way and won't be around in my address any time in the next several years. I may be better off moving out of Australia for when I want to do real work in my field... Smiley Sad

While my case may be not very common, there are far more applications to upload speed than torrenting. Such as Cloud Computing, Dropbox, Streaming in HD, etc.. etc. etc... to name a few.