Searching...

Router or Modem?

Andrew8429

Hello all.  Its my first time on this forum.  I have a Sagemcom Gateway F@st 3864AC Home Gateway NBN Router and a Netgear Cable eMTA CM500v-isTAUS modem both supplied by Optus.  

I don't find my wifi that good and have been exploring changing the router.  I've looked at extenders and even mesh (Google Wifi).  But when I have looked at this forum on particular pages I am perplexed to see folks referring to the Sagemcom as a modem.  I thought it was just a router.  Can anyone clarify that please?  If you can point me to a technical website that validates what you tell me all the better. 

This then leads me to the question - if I want to change my router for something "better" (Ive been looking at a Netgear Nighthawk unit but have an open mind) can I toss the Sagemcom? 

I assume I am obliged to use the optus supplied Netgear modem.  Will my landline (VOIP) work without the Sagemcom? I assume so because the phone connection is plugged into the Netgear modem (so why then are there phone icons on the Sagemcom). 

Apologies for all of these questions but any guidance will be most appreciated.  Thanks

Re: Router or Modem?

pwright

The Sagecom is both a Modem and Router, if you are on Cable or NBN, you will just use it as a Router, via the WAN interface, but it has a modem inbuilt for those on ADSL & FTTN (Copper Phone Line) on NBN.

You can use any router you like behind the Optus Supplied Cable modem, instead of the Sagecom, but to use the Optus Supplied phone, you would have to remain with the Sagecom, if you dont use the home phone you can use another router.  If your VOIP phone is coming out of the Cable Modem, and not the Sagecom, then that should be ok to use another router also.

You could also look at just purchasing a Access Point, and plugging into the Back of the Sagecom as well, to provide wifi, off the existing router as another Option.  Hope that helps Smiley Happy

petergdownload