cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Welcome to the new look Community! We're still upgrading and making some changes to the platform over the coming weeks! Stay tuned.
Occasional Contributor SteveReaver
Occasional Contributor

Really, really slow Cable Internet

Firstly I am not on NBN, secondly I am a network admin with over 20 years expereince..... my Optus cable service used to be fast, However latley it has slowed to a crawl at all times of the day. Netflix still works, barely, however Stan and Optus's own Fetch TV really struggle and often just give up saying there is not enough bandwidth to work. Ookla Speedtest rarely reads over 10Mbps, and my Ookla history show speed tests at this time last year over 60Mbps. And forget about M-Lab that reads about 2Mbps !

I've done all the suggested fixes;

• Turn WiFi off, connect a single pc. No change
  • Connect a 2nd pc using the above method to ensure it wasn't a faulty computer Operating system or LAN card. No change
  • Try a different Coax cable. No change
  • Reboot the modem several times. No change
  • Reset the modem to factory default. No change
  • Tried different MTU's, 1323, 1472. No change

In addition I use Untangle firewall which tells me exaclty my network activity, and even with no other devices active the speed is still horrible. When I get a chance I will run Smokeping and CACTI to get some stats. 

I am in the Eastwood area, are there currently any networks issues or perhaps planned upgrades ?

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Occasional Contributor CharlieWu
Occasional Contributor

Re: Really, really slow Cable Internet

Hey Steve, I'm having the same issue, I'm in Beverly Hills.  I think internet slows down dramatically between 5PM and 11PM, which most people get's home and start use internet.

I'm getting around 5-10 MB/s around those time.  It's totally unaccpetable.  If you call tech support, you are going to be in queue for 30 mins

0 Kudos