cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Welcome to the new look Community! We're still upgrading and making some changes to the platform over the coming weeks! Stay tuned.
Contributor Purple
Contributor

Re: Permanently Turning off Call Waiting

I wish I knew what you are all talking about. Have a modem but no idea what number ?? it is. I am not technical and optus should take care of  this. I believe its call SERVICE. 

0 Kudos
Contributor Chopsie
Contributor

@Purple

Yours will be one of the two models of Sagem that Optus sends out and we've pretty much established that there's no way to solve the problem permanently with either modem.

An IT friend said the same thing as @JohnGee today: it's caused by the firmware updates.

Nothing will happen to solve this until Optus thinks a bit harder about this. As you say, it's called service, and apparently they don't feel they need to provide any for the $ we hand over.

There is the option of going to another provider. It doesn't seem to be happening with anyone I know who's with Telstra and you can take your phone number with you when you leave Optus. There are some smaller Aussie providers with Australian call centres who have pretty good packages, too -- Mate, for example -- and seem to have okay reviews, especially compared to Optus (and Telstra). Whistleout and other sites can point you to some alternatives.

0 Kudos
Contributor Purple
Contributor

thanks @Chopsie

good to now you can take the phone number but we have an Optus email and the thought of changing that is too hard to even contemplate. I am a Senior person and just dont want / cant do the hassle.

Surely there are enough IT people to work this out and correct it??? 

0 Kudos
Online Community Manager
Online Community Manager

Hey guys, 

I've had a chat with our NBN tech team about this  issue. It's been brought up with Networks in the past, but at this time we're still waiting on a permanent fix.