Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
COVID-19 impact to Yes Crowd & Contact Centres info here
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Occasional Contributor

NBN connection, home visit, and Asperger's

I've been using Optus ADSL for the last 13 years, and of a few days ago, have contacted optus to upgrade to a NBN Broadband bundle. I've officially have had the NBN switched on at my block of flats last week, it is FTTB. The unit complex is three stories and was built around 2002 2003.

When speaking to optus customer service about the plan switch, they noted that a person has to come out to my place to actually turn it on, and hook up my modem. If it's just a visit to the basement to flick a switch and turn it on, I don't have a problem.

However, if it requires someone to physically enter into my unit, this is where issues become a problem. I have both Asperger's Syndrome and only 10% vision. With this, I have extremely sensitive feel, and with the autistic portion, a strong sensitive reaction to certain textures. So strong that I can feel something is completely clean, through to as sensitive as someones oily finger prints. My reaction to certain textures gives a meltdown, hard sweats, extremely high anxiety, stress, and the way my mind is wired, i literally shut down.

I've learned to cope with this quite well, as I treat my world in different zones, a white zone which is my unit (clean zone), and the black zone, which is everything else outside, such as plants, footpaths, trains, shops, and etc. All these places are naturally shared as public spaces, thus would have a higher degree of dirt, dust, oils, and etc from the reality of people sharing such spaces.