Searching...
Highlighted

My ADSL2+ connection has been a nightmare

ctcrawley
I currently have two Optus mobile phones plans ($145 per month, 24 month contract) Optus Home Wireless Broadband ($60 per month, month to month contract) And ADSL2+ ($65 per month, 24 month contract) I had ADSL2+ connected in November 2018 and my experience with it has been a massive headache and I’d like to cancel it. I have been using Optus home wireless broadband for over 2 years on a month to month contract. I have continued to keep it to use whenever my ADSL2+ service is unusably slow or completely dropped out (which is very often). The home wireless broadband has its own problems but between the two I am able to maintain just enough internet connection to get by. Relying on just one is terrible. I even have to using my phone data via hotspot sometimes as BOTH are unusable! Since having the ADSL2+ connection installed my speeds have averaged between 0 and 6 Mbps. Often I would try to load speedtest.net just to confirm how bad it was and couldn’t even load the page. I spoke to technical support at one point because I had no connection whatsoever. I believed that my service was suspended because of an overdue bill and they didn’t tell me why it was slow but said they could see a problem and that it would be fixed in 15 minutes to 4 hours. The ADSL came back at its old speed of around 4 mbps. Recently the connection completely stopped again. I contacted technical support and they conducted some line tests and found a fault in the line. They sent a technician and confirmed that everything on their end is fine so it must be a fault in my building’s wiring and advised me to chase up my landlord who has to chase up the strata to get a technician to fix the fault just so I can have this terrible internet connection back again. What a nightmare. I’d love to just cancel the service. I spoke to someone from Optus on Facebook and was told that because my internet is not working as a result of a