Searching...
Highlighted

Latency & Drop out issues. Unusable Connection.

Joshy1989

My partner and i just had our optus broadband connection moved from our rental property which was FTTP (NBN) and was excellent. no drop outs, low latency, good speeds.etc

Weve recently brought a house and had it moved to ADSL2 as there is not NBN availiable as of yet and its practially unusable for anything other than web browsing.

im no expert on latency and line attenuation but from what i can gather its pretty high. i have attached some speedtests done from a ethernet connection and some latency tests done from a WiFi connection. 

Can someone looks at these and tell me im not over reactinng.

Cheers, Josh

The 3 following speedtests were done at approx 8pm

Capture.PNGCapture1.PNG

Capture2.PNG

while the following tests were done at 8am on a saturday morning

Capture3.PNG

Capture4.PNG

Capture6.PNG

Capture8.PNG

Capture7.PNG

Re: Latency & Drop out issues. Unusable Connection.

Jeneral__Pain

The stats you posted for your modem indicates a heavy line issue. If you plug in a phone and dial "4" and just listen? Is it noisy or clear? 

If it is noisy, remove everything and just plug in the phone, still noisy? try a different phone?

reportNOISY VOICE FAULT, do not mention the DSL at all. This will only confuse them and delay the resolution. 

If the line is clear of any noise, do you use a DSL filter? If yes, remove it and see if your stats improve.

The downside, your stats suggest you are about 3.7km from the DSL Exchange port. So if the line is clear and not faulty, then you're going to struggle to get much more than you've got now.

I'm a Yes-Crowd Contributor, not an Optus Employee, and I contribute on a voluntary basis. Did someone on Yes Crowd answer your question? Did they share a great tip Please remember to acknowledge their awesomeness by throwing a Kudo and or Accepted Solution their way.

Joshy1989

Hi, Jeneral_Pain