Searching...
Highlighted

Intermittent disconnects and Optus tech support will not acknowledge the issue

TeaLeaves

Before I get started, I'm a tech guy, just a programmer but I have been around long enough to know what's on my end vs Optus. 

So 29th March begins my excruciating journey to get Optus to acknowledge a local issue here that most normal or casual internet users won't even catch. The only people potentially seeing this issue are gamer's or specifically PC gamer's who capable of doing some basic network troubleshooting.

29th March, I was disconnecting from games like crazy so I figured something was wrong. 

What I have been doing is using hrping which is a better version of ping

• Pings are hitting my gateway to determine if I have issues locally
  • Pings are hitting google, reddit and an Optus IP I found via tracert 
  • These are logged for an entire day while I am at work and home

What happens is, some services I noticed will just disconnect, it's not noticeable to normal users because if you browse or stream content it'll just pend until it gets a connection back to get data.

For example this is today from 12 AM to 6 PM

• Of 88663 pings there are 6510 timeouts - that's a massive amount

An example of a stable internet connection which I also have access to a VPS (a server I can remotely log into) and a secondary ISP at my place of resident is no timeouts and that's the same as work because I also can log information like this at work. It's very standard to build some data of internet issues to be addressed.

So what have I done?

• Eliminated every possible cause, wireless off, my NUC is recording pings, no traffic whats so ever
  • Confirmed locally my network cables are good (I would be getting issues locally via pinging my gateway if it was broke)
  • I own 4 computers, 1 laptop, all pinging at the same time will result in said behaviour (so I doubt all my machines NIC are dead)
  • Called Optus multiple times, contacted chat support