cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Welcome to the new look Community! We're still upgrading and making some changes to the platform over the coming weeks! Stay tuned.
Occasional Contributor JohnnyB
Occasional Contributor

IPv6 at Optus

I've been using IPv6 via a tunnelling service for a couple of years now.  Today I logged into the tunnelling providers website (once you set up a tunnel you really don't go back to their site very often) and noticed a saying that they are no longer issuing new tunnels and to "Contact your ISP for IPv6".

I'd like to know what the timeline is for Optus to enable IPv6 (I hope it's on someone's timeline), especially for NBN users.

Regards

John.

31 Replies
RetiredModerator Hollie
RetiredModerator

Re: IPv6 at Optus

Hey John!

It's something that is definitely on our radar but no timeframe as yet. Watch this space for more details Smiley Happy

Please ensure you abide by the community guidelines. All moderation actions are final.

Occasional Contributor Petz
Occasional Contributor

Hi Hollie,

Is there any extra details at all you can provide on this. The has been the standard public stance from Optus and other ISPs for far to long. More specific details should be ready by now. Will there be a beta program, when etc...

I moved from Internode who has had opt-in IPv6 since July 18, 2008. I would move to again in the future to another ISP with IPv6. Unfortunatly my current house is a long way from the exchange(slow for ADSL) and cable is avaialble. Hence my choice for Optus. NBN might change my access options when it comes.

ISPs need to get moving. We are seeing IPv6 only resources on the internet now. So if your only providing IPv4 your only providing access to half the internet(protocol wise)!

Regards Jarrod

Tags (1)
RetiredModerator Hollie
RetiredModerator

Hey Jarrod - can definitely understand where you're coming from and as soon as we have more info we'll let you know.