Searching...

Emails automatically deleted after about 4-5 months

BazzaG

Hi,

Hopefully, someone from Optusnet support can answer this question for me ....

I've been using Optusnet webmail only for the last 8 months or so while I upgraded to a new PC.  I decided to continue using just Optusnet webmail ... even though the interface is a bit clunky.

However, I noticed today that emails older than about 4-5 months are being automatically deleted by *Optusnet* from my inbox.  As of today the oldest email in my inbox is a email I received on the 20/5/2014.

Why is Optusnet deleting my emails?  I'm well below the 50mb limit.

Re: Emails automatically deleted after about 4-5 months

Tom

Hi BazzaG, are you sure you don't have a mail client hooked into the Optusnet account that has settings to automatically purge emails after a specified time - are these emails showing in deleted items at all?

Please ensure you abide by the community guidelines. All moderation actions are final.

BazzaG

Nope, no email client of any sort.  Not even a pgm that simply checks for new emails.

I've been meaning to install Office 2013 on my new PC & I would include Outlook, however, I haven't done so yet.

Yesterday, I added my 2 Optusnet email addresses to zoho.com via POP (mine & my wife's).  At this stage I am NOT deleting the emails from the Optusnet server so I can monitor the situation.  Unfortunately I can't use SSL connection because the security certificate used by Optusnet is self-signed & Zoho only allows a certificates issued by certified vendor ... fair enough too, Optusnet is being very slack/cheap to say the least.  Nor am I using IMAP as I can't actually confirm whether or not Optusnet email servers support IMAP.  The IMAP details aren't listed on their info page.

As of now, the oldest email in my inbox are 3 emails that arrived on the 20/05/2014.  I'm waiting to see just when they get deleted .... or not.