Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
For Australian Bushfire info please click here
New Contributor john27rg
New Contributor

Cable Haunt

There is a new potential vulnerability for cable modems. I became aware of it via:

https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2020/01/exploit-that-gives-remote-access-affects-200-...

There is more information at:

https://cablehaunt.com/

And a question posted on Whirlpool at:

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/95qymxp9

I'm not an expert in this space, so just posting it here so Optus gurus are alerted if they're not already engaged. I do have an Optus Netgear cable modem. 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Trusted Contributor
Trusted Contributor

Re: Cable Haunt

Judging by: https://www.optus.com.au/for-you/support/answer?id=5429

It does not look like Optus used those models mentioned.

Did someone on Yes Crowd answer your question?
Please remember to throw a Kudo and/or Accepted Solution their way!
0 Kudos
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

@Paddylee wrote:
Judging by: https://www.optus.com.au/for-you/support/answer?id=5429

It does not look like Optus used those models mentioned.

That is not an exhaustive list, and they state that "the exploit is likely to work on other models as well" (which you always have to assume anyway), so I think we need an Official statement from Optus. ( 😉 @Ray_YC 😉)

Trusted Contributor
Trusted Contributor

Wont be long before no one is using the Optus HFC network.

The Arris devices NBN uses are not listed, so that side is covered.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

@Paddylee wrote:
Wont be long before no one is using the Optus HFC network.

Sure, but how long is that? 6 month, 12 months, who knows. I am curious to hear from them as to when they anticipate the last customer may be disconnected.

The Arris devices NBN uses are not listed, so that side is covered.