cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
New Contributor ShayneBeaumont
New Contributor

CG3000V2 DNS Option Missing

I see that OPTUS has disabled the DNS settings option  in the GUI of the cable modem CG3000V2, I use OpenDNS to stop my kids from accessing adult sites and for other reasons.

I have read a lot of forums here, with a majority of OPTUS responses being to seek out NETGEAR for a fix.

I work in the technology sector and I have a corporate account with NETGEAR, I have spoken to NETGEAR and their response is "this is a customised version of the NETGEAR product sold by the ISP whose settings, firmware and configurations will differ from the normal NETGEAR product. Please seek out your ISP provider for any issues"

OPTUS is buck passing this issue by sending people to NETGEAR.

I am asking OPTUS to please release a firmware update reinstating the option to change the DNS for this modem, I am not the only person with this request there are many people seeking the same option.

Yes there are ways around this DNS issue by using the modem as a bridge, or the parental control option, or using static IP and DNS on the devices, or purchasing my own modem, but I don’t want multiple boxes in my setup, I dont want to change every device to static and I like having the filtering direct with OpenDNS.

Please change this OPTUS, or provide a valid reason that you do this.

34 Replies
Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

Re: CG3000V2 DNS Option Missing

Hmm I would suggest they don’t want to offer support for the advanced features of the modem. I can understand why they would want to do that however they should at least offer the option of installing stock firmware even if the onus is on those that choose to do so.

New Contributor

UPDATE: I phoned technical support and they have told me to contact a technician (1300657778) to come out and make the changes.