Searching...

Re: AC800S STILL constantly restarting

JayArrgh

@fatrod

After returning my POS AC800S a while back, I made do with a Note4 for a while.

But last month I signed up to the 200gb plan over 24 months and got a Samsung Galaxy Tab S4.

I'd suggest you go and get them to change you over to the Tablet & use it as a hotspot.

I've been using mobile products for almost 25 years, hell I used to sell phones in the 90's, and the AC800S is the WORST mobile product I have ever encountered. The only useful function it can perform without crashing & restarting is as a powerbank!

JayArrgh

@Paddylee

I believe the problem is related to specific CA (Carrier Aggregation) band combinations. Limiting your device to certain bands has likely eliminated the problematic CA band combination from occurring, thereby avoiding the problem.

Highlighted

Rez79

I have exactly the same problem started recently, I got them modem 8 months back it was fine at the beginning but now has this issue, I have the latest crap firmware from Optus. Optus should solve this otherwise we can seek a class action and also chase the issue through ACCC and other legal authorities, I am sure solving the issue properly will cost less for Optus and us, but it is Optus call, so frustrating, will never buy from Optus. Cheers,

BluedogJohnR

There seems to be a lot of traffic on this topic recently, I have seen where people have been stating that they are up to date, but no mention of their firmware actually is. My AC800s performs extremely well since this level was installed over 6 months ago.

Good luck JohnR

Firmware

Firmware Version: NTG9X40C_11.14.08.33

Firmware Build Date: 2018/03/16

App Version: NTG9X40C_11.14.08.33

Web App Version: AC800S-1OP_03.03.103.168

Bootloader Version: NTG9X40C_11.14.08.33

Hardware Version: 1.0

krunchy

Yep. That's what I got too. Mine restarts a lot. Looks like your area must not use the band that makes the unit restart.