cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
New Contributor dfarrugia
New Contributor

100 Mbps Broadband spped is a joke only getting 13Mbps

Hi,  just called Optus about my poor 100Mbps broadband speed. I am getting download speeds between 6Mbps to 13 Mbps. Even though I am paying for 100Mbps Optus is only supplying speeds of a 20Mbps plan. Rang Optus and was told that there were upgrades happening and that I would have to put up with these poor speed for upto 12 months of my contract. When I asked for a more definate time line the call centre staff informed me it was too hard to determine. As I work in the IT industry I find this highly improbable as there would have been set a complete timeline for upgrades and target dates for each section of the upgrades. I have already lodged a complaint with the Federal Communications Ombudsman and will lodge a complaint with Fair trading as they are in breach of the contracted speed that they have agreed to supply. 12 months is not a reasonable time frame in the contract to deliver speeds that are not acceptable.

I would recommend more people go to Fair Trading if they are having problems with speed as this may be in violation of the Australian Consumer Law. NSW Fair Trading and the equivalent in each state will have more power than the ombudsman as well.

15 Replies
Honoured Contributor
Honoured Contributor

Re: 100 Mbps Broadband spped is a joke only getting 13Mbps

Are you of FTTN? NBN? Optus Cable?

Currently the NBN is being rolled out. Optus has no direct control over when the NBN does stuff. Optus cable is also being decomissioned (junked) as the NBN rolls out. Currently its a transition phase and its going to take a few years for it to settle down.