cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
View your usage, get billing support and much more with the My Optus app, download it here
Highlighted
New Contributor
New Contributor

Overcharging after payment plan over

Whilst enquiring about the iPhone 8 yesterday I was told because I own my phone that I could be on a program for $25 per month for the usage I generally use. Considering I have been paying $60 per month for almost 12 months I am really ticked off that no one from Optus telling me that when my plan and contract was over. I have effectively paid $420 over the year that needed.

Has  anyone else encountered this lack of service and incorrect advise offer when finishing a contract. 

I am seriously considering changing. I have telstra at home and they frequently call to update and make sure the plan suits.

17 Replies
Highlighted
Honoured Contributor
Honoured Contributor

Re: Overcharging after payment plan over

Ideally Optus should be running simple scans over their existing customer contracts and seeing if better options might apply. But in practice Optus just roll all their contracts over to a month to month duplicate and its up to the customer to check out any recent offers. 

FWIW many businesses now operate on a lazy tax basis (either not dropping prices down the track, or actually raising them considerably after the honeymoon period (12-24 months) has passed - see car insurance or your electricty bill for prime examples. All it usually takes is a quick call or at worst just switch to a new provider but for many busy people its too much hassle.

I've found a simple google account and using the calander (or KEEP) is very effective. Any sort of deal like this I enter into I just set a reminder to pop up in 11 months to review / call to check what's happening. 

Works for me

Peter Gillespie

0 Kudos
Highlighted
RetiredModerator
RetiredModerator

Morning Rong8888,