cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Welcome to the new look Community! We're still upgrading and making some changes to the platform over the coming weeks! Stay tuned.
New Contributor hugh-jass
New Contributor

Can't pay my bill but ineligible for financial hardship. What can I do?

I thought I set up a direct debit when I got the phone in February. But I musn't have done it right because I found out a few weeks ago I have a $600 bill.

I'm a student and my income is about $300 pw. They told me I have to pay $300 upfront to be able to set up a payment plan, which I simply can't afford. 

What am I supposed to do?

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

Re: Can't pay my bill but ineligible for financial hardship. What can I do?

Hi @hugh-jass,

Its a bit hard to work out what is happening here. Generally a failed direct debit would have meant your phone would be cut off after a month or two. Can you provide some details of what is actually being charged and why?

1) What plan (monthly $ and Gb) and phone do you have

2)  How long is your contract (12 or 24 months)

3) When was your phone cut off?

4) Has the plan been cancelled now?

5) Do you have a break down of the costs being asked for? Phone Fee, Plan Fee, Overdue fee, Cancellation Fee?

6) Have you talked to the Optus financial hardship department or just customer service?

7) Have you a copy of your last bill?

FWIW Optus must take into account your circumstances and should be able to specify (and freeze) a total amount owing and set up a reasonable month to month payment plan (say $50 a month for 12 months). but if you can answer those questions first we'll be better able to advise.

Regards

Peter Gillespie

0 Kudos
New Contributor

The bill hasn't been paid since I got it in Feburary but the service hasn't been cut off. 

1. Galaxy S8, $80 pm

2. 24 months

3. It hasn't been cut off

4. The plan hasn't been canceled