Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ask a Question
Muppet83
New Contributor
New Contributor

Please, PLEASE enable custom DNS

Please enable custom DNS for those of us that know what we are doing. Until I got my Nokia Fastline 5g modem, I was using cloudflares  1.1.1.3 DNS entries to help protect my family from malware and adult content.

Now I have to rely on the security built into the modem, which takes a layer of security out of my hands. As a senior IT technician, I know what I am doing when modifying my DNS entries and believe that we should have the option to do so if we choose to.

6 Replies
YetAnotherAcc
Respected Contributor
Respected Contributor

Re: Please, PLEASE enable custom DNS

Custom static DNS is currently expected to be adding in early November.

Sorry. That info was for fixed line 5366 modem, not for the Nokia Fastline 5g.

0 Kudos
Kyri_YC

Hey there @Muppet83. Apologies for the inconveniences that not being able to set up a custom DNS on your Nokia 5G Modem. I have marked this post as feedback, so we can have it reviewed for future reference for our relevant teams. Feel free to reach out again if you have any other concerns of this nature. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I’m part of the Yes Crowd team, employed by Optus to help run our online community.

Did we answer your question? Please mark it as a Accepted Solution and if you see something that was helpful to you or the rest of the community, giving a Kudos is only a click away.

sysAdmin
Contributor
Contributor

@Muppet83 , Thank you. I have a new little one who will be internet keen soon and I've just learnt something new, 1.1.1.3, without directly looking for it. Brilliant.

I was speaking to Optus today and they promised a firmware update within about a month. I didn't request details but many of us have been asking for DNS and DHCP customisation. I hope they have listened.